Various subjects depending on one’s interests and apprenticeship area.

(For detailed explanation on apprenticeships – Click Here)

Desirable characteristics for students and people in this area

This depends very much on the kind of apprenticeship being sought. However, the following would be required … High level of interest, willingness to learn, punctual, reliable, trustworthy, and a responsible approach to the work involved.

The work of apprentices which takes place in the workplace, education and training centres, is aimed at developing skills to meet the needs of industry and the labour market. Apprentices can earn while they learn as they receive an allowance during training.

The curriculum for each apprenticeship is based on specified standards which are agreed and determined by industry.  Currently, apprenticeships are divided into two main areas: ‘craft’ and ‘new’.

The passing of a Colour Vision Test is necessary for some craft areas.

Roisin Kelleher Career Advice Cork

Craft Apprenticeships

A craft apprenticeship is the recognised means by which people are trained to become craftspeople in this country, which generally is of 4 years duration. The main craft trades have been designated by Solas in co-operation with the Department of Education and Skills and trade unions. Such craft skills are mainly in the areas of Construction, Electrical and Engineering. An apprenticeship provides on-the-job training with an employer. This means that in order to enter an apprenticeship, one must first obtain an employer who will sponsor a person for the specified training.
Some examples of Apprenticeships in this area include:
Carpentry & Joinery, Painting & Decorating, Plastering, Plumbing, Aircraft Mechanic, Brick & Stone-laying, Electrical, Electronic, Civil Engineering, Motor Mechanic, Wind Turbine Maintenance Technician, Industrial Insultation.

Generation Apprenticeships

Generation apprenticeships in other areas of industry were introduced in 2016 and can lead to an award between levels 5–10 on the National Framework of Qualification (NFQ). Each of these apprenticeship programmes has a duration of 2 to 4 years. Industry-led groups work with education and training providers and other partners, to oversee the development of these apprenticeships.

Some examples of Apprenticeships in these areas include:
Accounting Technician, Commis Chef, Insurance Practitioner, Transport Operations & Commercial Driving, Recruitment Executive, Retail Supervision, Sales, Farm Technician, Beauty Therapy, Roofing & Cladding, Software Development, Data Network Technician, Arboriculture, Logistics, Auctioneering and Property Services, Laboratory Technician, Butcher.
Entry to courses
Ensure to have the correct course requirements including:  subjects, their levels, college and course requirements.
Information on values and motivation
Information on levels of education and training
Education and Training courses & useful links
For current list of career and job opportunities
Check various Recruitment websites and professional bodies.
Labour market information
Check access routes to education
Student grant information
Counselling Services
Print Page
Scroll to Top